Women's International Match Racing Association
News Detail

U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship - FINAL
Jennifer Wilson new US Women’s Match Racing Champion!

In a three-day series at the Chicago Match Race Center that featured everything from light shifty breeze to big wind and waves, Chicago-based Jennifer Wilson and her team of Sally Barkow (Nashotah, Wis.), Katherine Pettibone (Sacramento, Calif.), Krista Paxton (Royal Oak, Mich.), and Sandi Svoboda (Grosse Pointe Park, Mich.) have won the Allegra Knapp Mertz Trophy for the 2013 U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship. After defeating Sandy Hayes in a 2-0 Semi-Final, Wilson and team went on to defeat Stephanie Roble and her team in a 3-1 Final.

For winning this ISAF Grade 3 championship, Wilson will receive an automatic invitation to the Open U.S. Match Racing Championship this September in Sheboygan, Wis. as well as the Women’s International Match Race Series event this July in Oyster Bay, N.Y.

"I was really comfortable racing with this team," said Wilson. "We have sailed a lot together over the years. I felt like we had the best group out there. I let Sally do her magic and take care of tactics, while I focused on sailing fast and smooth in the shifty conditions."

Wilson also gave credit to Roble, her arch-rival throughout the series. Roble and her tactician Maggie Shea who like have spent the last three years sailing with or against Wilson at many other CMRC events.

"Steph and her team were outstanding," said Wilson. "We were excited to have the opportunity to race against them and to be able to edge them out."

Roble (East Troy, Wis.) sailed with Maggie Shea (Wilmette, Ill.), Lindsey Duda (Chicago, Ill.), Martha Pitt (Chicago, Ill.), and Janel Zarkowsky (Washington, DC). For finishing as runner-up, Roble and her team won the Mrs. Charles Francis Adams Memorial Award.

Winning bronze medals for third place after a 2-1 Petit Final was Kate Maxim (Napa, Calif.) and her team from the Bay area.

"It was a fantastic opportunity for us to host this prestigious championship," said Tod Reynolds, Director of CMRC. "With the coaching and debriefs provided by Taylor Canfield of USOne, all the teams really improved throughout the week and everyone had great racing, having raced at least 20 matches in 2 1/2 days of sailing. Everyone also appreciated the excellent race management by PRO Darcy Cook and her Race Committee team despite some trying conditions, as well as the perseverance from Kathy Lindgren and her umpiring team. They all contributed to this being a great national championship event."

Final results:

1. Jennifer Wilson, Sally Barkow, Krista Paxton, Sandi Svoboda, Katie Pettibone
2. Stephanie Roble, Maggie Shea, Lindsey Duda, Marth Pitt, Janel Zarkowsky
3. Matie Maxin, Stephanie Wondolleck, Janice Wondolleck, Kerry Sullivan, Vicki Sodaro
4. Sandy Hayes, Cindy Olsen, Martha Parker, Marcy Lake, Lynn Kotwicki
5. Madeline Gill, Ivy Binns, Sarah Ragle, Ann Schwagerl, Liz Hjorth
6. Shala Lawrence, Julie Mitchell, Summer Greene, Tracy Nackel, Julie Servai
7. Clerc Cooper, Chanel Miller, Megan Six, Amanda Baker, Molly Forbes
8. Rachel Austin, Laura Muma, Suzy Leech, Sarah Renz, Lindsey Gates

For results, standings, photos and more information on the 2012 U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship, please visit the event website at championships.ussailing.org/Adult/USWMRC.

Continue to follow the Chicago Match Race Center on Twitter @MatchRaceCenter.

The U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship is sponsored by Gill North America. This championship is a Sailors for the Sea - Clean Regattas certification event.
Posted on Jun 16, 2013 by WIMRA Press Office

Return to News Item List